The Agricultural Leadership Foundation of Hawai‘i provides leadership opportunities for students enrolled in local agriculture programs. In 2017, a total of 67 youth from across the state, plus their teachers and advisors, participated in the Hawai‘i Agriculture Conference. The youth programs represented at the conference included Future Farmers of America (FFA), Mao Farms, KUPU, University of Hawaii at West Oahu, and University of Hawaii at Manoa College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources (CTAHR). Student participants networked with attendees, took part in conference sessions, and participated in a special student panel. Additionally, FFA students and leaders held their Statewide Leadership Conference in conjunction with the Hawai‘i Agriculture Conference. Plans are being made to repeat this level of student involvement at the 2019 conference. In past years, AFLH also supported scholarships for students interested in pursuing education and training activities aimed at supporting a career in the agricultural sector.

2015 Scholarship Program

With the support of the City and County of Honolulu, the Agricultural Leadership Foundation of Hawai‘i offered scholarships to O‘ahu students in local agriculture programs such as 4-H and Future Farmers of America (FFA) to attend National Leadership Conferences in 2015. Students that were enrolled in FFA programs and that were interested in pursuing education and training activities aimed at supporting a career in the agricultural sector were asked to apply for the available scholarships. Scholarships covered travel and conference registration fees for 10 O‘ahu students to attend the FFA Leadership Conference in Washington, DC in July of 2015. Scholarship recipients also networked with Agricultural Leadership Program Alumni and other agricultural professionals at various events in 2015 to support their continued interest in supporting agricultural growth in Hawai‘i.

Meet the 2015 scholarship recipients:



District 2:

Michelle Biete, Leilehua High School

Carina Kusaka, Leilehua High School

Brianna Hull, Miliani High School

Zoe Tengan, Miliani High School

District 4:

George Do, Kalani High School

Peter In, Kalani High School

Chad Sloggett, Kalani High School

District 5:

Serenity Bolo-Padello, McKinley High School

District 9:

Mackinley Belback, Waipahu High School

Jeremiah Dhin Comorposa, Waipahu High School


Mahalo nui loa to Ken Kajihara from FFA for his efforts on this project. His commitment to the success of our local students in agricultural programs is truly commendable!

Mahalo also to advisors Jackie Akuna of Leilehua High School and Jeff Yamaguchi from Mililani High School (and his wife Monica) for chaperoning the students to the FFA conference.

Christine Brammer was the Youth Program Coordinator for this effort. Program Director Pauline Sato also provided support and direction for this project.Youth ALP FLYER